Product was successfully added to your shopping cart.

Midnight Sleighride (Troika)

Composer: Sergei Prokofiev

Duration: 3.00

Series: Gold TradeWinds Concert Band

SKU: RS00071

Grade/Difficulty: 5

Arranger: Ray Farr

Sample Score

Quick Overview

The music from Lieutenant Kijé was Prokofiev's first attempt at composing film music. In 1933 he was commissioned by the Soviet Union to compose music for a film of the same name and he later adapted this music into an orchestral suite that has since become highly popular. Troika, which forms the 4th movement of this 5 movement suite, was composed to give the impression of a fast winter's journey on a troika which is a traditional sleigh pulled by three horses. With the inclusion of sleigh-bells in the orchestration it has been often associated with the Christmas period and still is to this day.

Availability: In stock